Flowers for Algernon

I really didn’t want to read this book. It was a filler book for me–something to read in between my other books. I just finished reading a killer book–Charles Yu’s How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe (which coincidentally so far is my favorite read of the year..uyyyy…) and since someone told me Flowers of Algernon was a good book (and I am highly swayed by smarter and good-looking people) and was mentioned to be a book about science, experiments and rats…I thought it would be a nice follow-up to the Sci-fi but not so Sci-Fi Yu book.

It was only recently mentioned that it would make me cry.

I’m a crybaby! I swear!! I’ve only watched I Am Sam 2 times in my life, and both times left me dazed for a week after and i cried buckets and buckets during and after that movie.

Then here comes this book.

Daniel Keyes’ book is a story about an experiment for making mentally challenged people smarter. It deals with human behavior, intelligence, emotional maturity, the capacity to and the origin of love, and even some theological concepts. The writing style perfectly complements the book and adds poignancy.

Is it a heavy read? Not really, but it was emotionally draining for me (but that’s because I’m a crybaby and i get affected by things). And yes, Shani actually called me right after I finished this book and caught me in the middle of a really bad crying jag.

This is the kind of book that you know what’s coming but you still keep on reading anyway… hoping that it won’t turn out the way that you just know will happen anyway.

Just like life. (wow..deep! 😉 )

I love this book. It reminded me how to live with purpose and with humanity–about not forgetting that the true worth of a person is not in the accolades he has, how much he makes, or how smart they are, but on how much happiness he has in his life….

also that life is short…

..and eventually, you know we’d probably end up like Charlie in one form or the other. =)

Read it.

**There’s a movie based on this book and it’s called Charly, the Wikipedia of that here.

2 thoughts on “Flowers for Algernon

Leave a Reply

