Wasted

I know i’m waaaaay late in reading Wasted by Gerry Alanguilan.

Ever since I read Elmer and it mentioned in the notes section that the artist did something earlier called Wasted, I wondered about it (and frankly, I loved Elmer so I wanted to read more of his stuff).  I tweeted about it, and I was surprised that a lot of people still remember Wasted quite vividly and love/d it. And they all told me,  it was an emo book. And of course that made me want to read it,. (Why? We’re going to get to that when I can drink alcohol again. :P)

I tried looking for it, but it was out of print and not available in bookstores everywhere (actually, even Elmer is hard to find these days.). But thanks to great friends (one of which wanted to look for his Pulp magazines with the comics from years ago– TY!) with good storing skills (that’s you Jeeves!), I managed to borrow myself a copy and read it.

I’m not going to comment on the art because I know nothing about art, but I must say that I enjoyed the rawness of the drawings. I will also add that I loved how Elmer was drawn, and i’m a fan! 🙂

If there’s a word that I love using with this book it’s— emotastic. It’s a book about emotions–of loving someone… and losing them— in this case the elusive and very unfair/fair Jenny.

In a nutshell, it’s a book about love, despair, murder, justice, and insanity among other things. A book that shows how life is unfair–how people can choose to give in to despair and go crazy.

It’s a book about totally giving in to angst.

It’s like every story in our brain of things we wanted to do whenever we were hurt, maltreated or dealt unfairly.

(Yeah, I understand why people would like this.)

I personally wasn’t affected by it, but it did make me remember moments in the past that I felt the same.

And again, I marvel at how life turns out.

But I must say, I love the part where he kills the mayor. For that alone, it deserves a reprint in my opinion.

PS

I also got a kick asking my friends that said that they could relate to the book who their jenny was. And my smart friend Jek told me, “Everyone has a Jenny. Life would be boring without a Jenny.

And yun na.

PS 2

To those who’ve wanted to read it, I found an online version of the comic. Yay! Click here. Ty to http://www.webcomicsnation.com! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Wasted

  1. Some day, I will eventually read a Gerry Alanguilan. If there’s one genre that I don’t get to read that much of, it’s graphic fiction, much less local graphic fiction. Before I met R., I had this severe loathing for comics. But all that changed when he gave me a Sandman graphic novel. Since then, I’ve never looked back!

    I can literally count with the fingers of one hand all the local graphic novels that I’ve read — Mythology Class, Zsa Zsa Zaturnah, and the first 3 Trese comics. Shame on me.

    • Hi Peter! If someone didn’t tell me to read Elmer, I would never have found out about Gerry Alanguilan, and if I didn’t join FFP, I would never have wanted to read Trese. Life is awesome!

      I think we’re about the same in the number of local comics read. Shame on me too! Before , I usually liked my comics in full color, and involving mutants. 🙂

Leave a Reply

