Essays in Love by Alain de Botton

So after I wrote that previous blogpost, SP commented and asked if I’ve read Essays in Love by Alain De Botton. And since I finished reading Trash (it’s the title of a book by Andy Mulligan which I liked btw), and I was feeling a bit “ready for it” — I decided to read it.

OMG.

Let’s just say, I find it funny that after I posted my review, it became the most helpful review in shelfari. and the review was:

o_O

When I tapped Kobo to close the book, my mouth was hanging open.. ehem.. is still hanging open actually. And I mean this quite literally. haha! πŸ™‚

Where do I start? It started kinda ordinarily– boy meets girl. And then you start to see how it’s different and you understand why the title is what it is. I liked how this book was written. I never give spoilers so what else is there to be said about this book?

1) It’s a love story. Yep.

2) It’s a love story told via a man’s perspective.

3) It’s in its most basic sense its title — Essays in Love (or Essays on Love).

4) If you want to be more “propesyonal” about it — it’s a book discussing love– its forms, birth, processes, reasons, its little peculiarities, why things work out, why things don’t, different philosophies and thoughts pertaining to it, and how people deal or not deal with it.

5) This might not be for everyone. But I think if you were in love or thought you were in love, you would be able to relate. I wonder if this would appeal more to those hurt by love, those in love, or those wanting love, etc?

6) It’s sappy but not so sappy. It felt like my 2nd to the last sentence in my previous blog post– when you’re trying not to be too much of a romantic idealist by being realistic while battling cynicism at the same time. Yun.

7) And I think I highlighted the hell out of this book. I had this crazy idea to put quotes of the book on this post, but I feel too out of it to do it. (Maybe another post? πŸ™‚ )

8) The chapter with the initials RT was very enlightening. Also the chapter with JC.

9) So far, It is my best book of the year (I’ve read more than 30,I think?)

10) READ IT.

Now, to get this stupefied look off my face. And I wonder if Alain (wow close!) has other books… ? πŸ™‚

PS.

SP—> you earn maximum kudos points from me. I wanna treat you out for coffee! Are you in Manila?! Attend a FFP discussion! πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Essays in Love by Alain de Botton

  1. Hahaha! Hi Joko! Oh, I wish I could take you up on that offer – Lord knows I love coffee. Sadly, am not in Manila, but if you ever decide to catch a wave in Florida, tell me! Hehe. Isn’t he (Alain de Botton) wonderful? The first book I read by him was The Romantic Movement, and now On Love. I love all the analyzing, over, analyzing, philosophizing… the references to Aristophanes and Stendahl. Hehe. I’m gushing, I know. But it’s just I’ve heard so much about him I’m so glad I finally found some of his books at a used bookstore here.

    The sentences in On Love are so wonderfully constructed that I have to stop and reread them out loud; I feel to not verbalize them would be an injustice… Hehe.

    P.S. I highlighted this book like crazy, too. (SInce I bought it used, I didn’t feel too guilty.)

    • well, if ever you’re in Manila then? or when I finally get my butt to the US for vacation, πŸ™‚
      He’s wonderful, Peter S has given me a list of books of his–which I will hopefully get to read this year. πŸ™‚

      I love how he writes too! I like how he analyzes stuff and breaks it down, while being vague at the same time, like he himself doesn’t really get it fully.
      I really need to read more! πŸ™‚

      I highlited via Kobo! πŸ™‚ haha!

  2. Pingback: 2012 List | The Bunny Blog

Leave a Reply

