A Game of Thrones: the Card Game

And so it happened. Suddenly, I found myself in a condo with peeps, they were teaching me the card game, and then I was playing.

The biggest IKR ever!!!!!

Why?

  • The last time I attempted to learn a card game that involved characters, kneeling/tapping, attacks and what-not was during highschool with Magic the Gathering. And I still remember my male friends patiently trying to teach me the game. I’m sorry— but love and 3 patient men didn’t make that game take. Haha!  Too.Much.Math.
  • It was also attempted that I  be taught the Pokemon game. Yes, they thought that the cute pokemons might help. Normally, they would be right. But for card games, they were wrong.
  • I do play Treachery, the awesome game that my friend Shani made, but I like that because it’s like  Monopoly Deal. And involved less or no mental math, and just money and property–both of which I am definitely okay with. Haha!
  • I don’t know how to play any other card games except Monkey-Monkey, 1-2-3 pass, Egyptian Ratscrew, and Bluff. Oh, and UNO cards too.
  • I actually really like board games. I have a bunch of them at home. Card games are another thing. It’s a been-there-but-really-never-want-to-go-back-to realm of mine.

That said, we played the game and it was pretty epic!

House Targaryen

You start out with picking a house, and you get the deck of the house that you picked (yes, at this point, I was sweating because it kinda already felt like Magic the Gathering), and you play with that house. There are plot, character, attachment, location and event cards.

I got Baratheon. If you know me, that’s far from being my favorite house.

ehem. FIRE AND BLOOD. 

So okay, I was actually thinking of getting into the nitty gritty of stuff and discussing the actual game, but that’s hardly my type of thing, so I’m just going to say click on THIS, as this guy’s got a nice review of the game.

The long and short of it was that House Baratheon lost, along with Houses Stark and Lannister. We all lost to House Martell .

There was a turn that I had to kill one of my characters every time I didn’t defend, and it was painful. Haha! There’s even a card that kills all the characters in play. I forgot what it was, but yeah. All I want to say is that the card game stays true to the book. There’s a lot of killing. 🙂

Along the way, I learned how to pick plot cards, marshall forces, do challenges and attacks, figure out the best strategies for a turn, and  in the end, I learned not to fear card games so much.

Oh di ba? I ended up surprising myself. As I semi-realized/learned recently, you might end up liking things that you thought you wouldn’t like if someone finds you the right gateway drug. That last bit, I learned in a talk recently. In this case, it was the love of the Game of Thrones.

And so, the moral of this story is to never say never (ala bieber..mwahaha!) and try new things. I need to remind myself of that because I like the things I do. And it sometimes makes me want to just keep on doing them,which is hardly promising to my growth as a human being.

Ehem. That said, I might give that Magic the Gathering card game thing a try again. Well, or at least I’ll use a part of this gaming laptop’s capability and install the computer game? haha! It still might not take, but that’s not the point. 🙂

I’ll end this post with 2 things:  a special thank you to our hosts— Den and Javie, and Jeeves for taking me along, til the next game! (Naks!); and of course perhaps my favorite cards by default:

Daenerys and Drogo 🙂

Leave a Reply

