2012 List

Here’s a random list of stuff about my 2012. 

  • MUSIC

 Bombay Bicycle Club’s Lights Out, Words Gone – This has always made me want to dance. Itunes played this on shuffle and  after that, it’s been the default song choice for relaxing, which I needed to do a lot of this year. This year was stressful. oh! i also whore-d out listening to Temper Traps’s Fader (default article writing music!)

But if you’re asking me about my favorite song of the year, it’s Call Me Maybe. Boom! 😉

TENDER OPPOSITES by TOPS – This year, I seemed to be more inclined to listen to mid-tempo to slow songs. I like this album because the songs sound new but familiar at the same time. TOPS is also my favorite new band for 2012 btw. Last year, it was Foster the People.

  • FOOD

I actually really love eating in Eat Fresh Famous Hongkong Street Food. I’ve only been to the San Juan Branch, but they have branches, I think in QC. Here, you can get isaw, really yummy noodles, and the pancake of awesome! If you follow me in twitter or tumblr, you might have been subjected to food photos of what I’ve been eating from this place, and I haven’t even eaten half of what’s in the menu so do check them out!  🙂

pancake!

Looking back at the foodie year that was, I really had awesome meals. It pays to be around people who like to cook and eat. We’ve had adventures from that cook-out/video-game night we had a few months back with my cop-out dishes to full-0n eating/food-trip dedicated days! I remember that amazing day that Vlad, Jeeves and I had eating around the fort area. It started with brekkie at Wildflour (we ordered every breakfast entree in the menu–Steak and Eggs ftw!), merienda/lunch at the Mercato launch, late lunch at Rocket Room (bone marrow awesomeness), and ending with cake and coffee at Slice.

I also hosted the press launch of Dimsum Break, and got to eat Steamed Fried Rice which i haven’t had in a year!  That meal was followed by a really awesome COVA dinner.

I must mention that I love Poco Deli’s Bacon Slab and Blackout cake! Also, that unexpected awesome free food makes me super happy! Also, Red Wine Ice cream—yum!

  • MOVIES

Cloud Atlas – My goodness that movie! I still want to cry every time that I really think about it. haha! Runner-ups would include Breaking Dawn , mwahaha! I’m joking! I’m joking! But really the runner-ups include Wreck-it Ralph, The Hobbit, The Amazing Spider-man, The Dark Knight Rises, Ang Nawawala, Argo, the Avengers, Skyfall, Rurouni Kenshin and (mwahahaha!) Magic Mike. Besides Magic Mike, I basically watched movies like a boy this year.

  • SPEECHES

I attended the Toastmasters District Convention and Mid Year Convention 2012 and listened to amazing speeches. I have absolutely no idea if I’ll be joining a contest anytime soon. I can’t seem to find it in me to write material for it. BUT I will commit to finishing my CC for my club, Butter ‘n Toast this 2013 BEFORE the next District Convention. I gotta hustle.

  •  STORYTELLING

mibf3

Storytelling Session for Vibal during MIBF 2012

I also joined Alitaptap Storytellers and I learned how to do storytelling for kids. I’ve been doing it since April 2012, and I’ve been enjoying it immensely. Storytelling to a 100++ kids and a lot of adults during the MIBF was a pretty awesome experience. I can actually see myself doing this for a long, long, time.

  • SURF

Cloud 9, General Luna, Siargao

This year’s Siargao trip was so fun! Even if we had this moment where we were at the dock looking at the ferry LITERALLY just leaving without us. Haha! Surfing Cloud 9  during that trip was soo scary! I’m so happy I survived! Mwahaha! It was just mind-blowing when we were surfing Quiksilver and when you looked left, you could see Cloud 9 just ON, and we were cheering peeps when they got barelled and rode out a wave.

If there’s one thing I’m a little bummed about in 2012, it’s that I didn’t get to surf as much as I would have wanted. But I had fun in the surftrips that I did take,even if some of them included being stuck in a bus for 9 hours.

  • POETRY

poetry

I like how I talked to someone, and she told me. “I remember you–the spoken word girl!” Alcohol makes me poetic, stupid, and a lot braver. I really don’t know if I’ll ever have the guts to read my own poetry to strangers, but I love reading poetry out loud. Someone told me about something  I can do about that, and I hope I can do that this year. And yep, that’s a screenshot of me really happy about something I just said during my first improv spoken word performance. haha!

  • CONCERTS

The Smashing Pumpkins concert was really epic. Braving the rain (and the ire of my mom) was hardcore, but I’m going to say that my favorite concert was Foster the People’s. I also got to attend that concert’s press con and I don’t think I’ll ever forget seeing Mark Foster up close! I forgot all my questions, and just went– “ai si mark..” hence the article didn’t really have anything re: the press con. Mwahaha! 🙂

I watched a lot of things this year including Keane and Snow Patrol. On that note, a super thank you for allowing me to try and start writing again and letting me watch awesome awesome things this year, you know who you are. 🙂

  •  BOOKS

Favorite book  read this 2012 is  Essays in Love by Alain de Botton. Blogpost on my love for that book–here. Runner-ups include Dandelion Wine, Cat’s Cradle, The Rook, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Einstein’s Dreams, Palestine, and South of the Border, West of the Sun. I should really blog more books, but I’ve been so busy, which is not an excuse really. But there, motivation is the problem here. I like writing blurbs/short reviews in Shelfari though, maybe I can do that? Let’s see.

This bookish year was wonderful! Spoken word poetry and storytelling would not be possible if not for my bookclub. The former because the awesome SteamPoe Party was the venue for the poetry slam. And the latter because it was in Blooey’s/FFP outreach that I thought to myself (out loud) that I could prolly do storytelling AND it was Blooey that told me about Alitaptap. I can’t say it enough—I love being in the FFP book club! 🙂

Noli-gayang Pasko, the FFP Christmas Party, photo by Rhett De Jesus

Last September, I moderated my first discussion which was on Jeffrey Steingarten’s book–It Must’ve Been Something I Ate. I found moderating it fun, we ate a lot, and I hope the people enjoyed the discussion. This September (again), I will be moderating the Kurt Vonnegut book, Sirens of Titan. So if you’re so inclined, be there and do checkout the FFP Shelfari page for updates. 🙂

——–

So basically really random awesome things, and yes, this post is written pretty disjointedly. Haha! My bad, but there it is.

As an end-note: 2012 was really, really stressful, but I look back at the things I’ve done, and I definitely think, it was a good year for me.

Here’s to 2013! 🙂

4 thoughts on “2012 List

    • We should really plan that. There’s this poetry reading thing/event that happens every so often, I think. I have this hankering to hear how the local poets do it. Also hoping the broadway/Les Miz singalong happens. 🙂 Happy New Year honey!

  1. Finally, here’s a list that doesn’t put Cloud Atlas at the bottom. Don’t you think it’s plain ridiculous to name it as the worst movie of 2012 (and this is from a Time Magazine list; I’m seriously doubting their credibility now)?

    I wanted to go to the Smashing Pumpkins concert. However, I felt that it was more of a Billy Corgan concert, hehe. I should have still gone. 😀 Happy New Year!

    • Serious yan re: Cloud Atlas?!? Totally agreeing with you at it being ridiculous to be put at the bottom, but taste is relative. I’m no film expert, but I loved it!

      We did see each other in the Keane concert, di ba? Yes, it was a Billy Corgan concert in a way but it was still epic! I hope they come back, they said they would! Tapos watch! 🙂 Happy New Year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

